Posted by: Kristy | January 5, 2011

I’ll be waiting in the sidecar. Looking for the Bat Signal.

“If you want to make your dreams come true, the first thing you have to do is wake up.”  ~J.M. Power

The above quote is the prompt for the story below. Enjoy. Then go visit Kat for more prompts.

Time to shop for a cape. And knee-high boots
By Kristin

When I was a young girl my grandma had a board game called “The Ungame.” Call it the 1972-version of my favorite dating game, “The Question Game” — wherein you take turns asking each other questions. Novel. Also, delightful.

(Notice I said my favorite dating game, not necessarily my dates’ favorite dating game. They usually roll their eyes and say, “Do I reeeeeally have to answer this?”)

When I was a child, The Ungame begged to be spread on puke-orange shag carpeted floor, little wooden tear drop-shaped pieces tumbling into the fluffy nastiness that passed for floor covering, and I dove for the real prize: the Question Cards.

It was not unusual for us to come to dinner at the G’s house to find five of these cards at each place setting, which caused my brother and two  cousins to groan in agony and pre-pubescent boy annoyance at the same time I squealed and asked if I could read theirs, too. We were going to get to know each other, yay!

Twenty years after these dinner-table dish sessions, I now blame my grandmother and a California housewife from the ’70s for my intense nosiness and my love of learning every. single. thing. about other people.

One of my favorite conversation-starter questions is, “If you could have one super power what would it be and why?”

I always say that I either would like to have selective mind reading abilities or I would like to be able to will events and physical things into existence. I blame that last one on the planner and organizer in me.

Here’s the scary part … after years of saying it, I think I’ve developed my super power. For reals. Move over Batgirl. She-Ra. Wonder Woman.

A few months ago I started a really scary habit called thinking. I was evaluating my dreams and my life and the direction in which I thought I was going with my life. And I decided to alter paths a little. I started vocalizing specific dreams and desires and “what-ifs” to a few select people about changes I would like to see in my career, and my relationships and just overall Kristin-ness.

I think God was listening.

Yeah. I really do. It’s either that or I really do have a super power because there’s a whole lot of recent activity in Kristinland that is in direct line with the specific dreams and desires I uttered to God and three other people. (And we all know in reality I’m just a very, very ordinary girl, so I’m thinking the latter definitely is out.)

There’s the potential for more challenge and some freshness in my career.  There is the potential for some pretty major, adventurous changes in the next two to three months. I’m in some pretty fabulous and fulfilling relationships with people who understand me and want to know me … really know the real me. And who pray for and with me and want to have adventures with me and one of them even voluntarily plays The Question Game with me.

It’s exciting. Thrilling.

I still feel like I need a cape and white boots — and maybe a flashy headpiece — ‘cuz, you know, I’m the sidekick in a pretty great team.

Kristin and God, we can do anything.

Responses

  1. Thank you for that inspirational post. It sounds like you are off to a good 2011!

  2. This was a lot of fun to read and I enjoyed writing on that topic too… I like that Ungame you played as a child though I’m not such a big gamer 🙂
    Stopped by from MamaKat’s Writers Workshop to read your selection, say hello and wish you a very happy 2011!
    Best,
    Elizabeth


Leave a Reply

Categories

