Posted by: Kristy | March 11, 2010

Cheesy Oscar host’s speech about contenders for Snarkiest Film

I have a problem wherein I am chronically tardy to various events in daily life.

I am late. For church. For dates. For classes at the gym. For life, pretty much.

The Boy is on time. Always. The minute he starts pacing outside the bathroom door while I’m fussing with the same tendril of hair as I was when he yelled, “We have to go!” I know he’s getting antsy. And aggravated.

But he still plans on keeping me around. (I think.)

However, there is one time where I can be counted on to be in my seat, ready for go time: When it’s time for previews before a movie.

I don’t go to the movie theater very often, seeing as how an adult ticket cost more than $10. Yeah. In OHIO. Come on, now.

But when I DO go to the theater, I go for the previews. Yeah, the popcorn is yummy and salty and deliciously artery clogging. I usually have a very strong desire to see the featured film itself. I even think it’s dandy to have the chance to relax with friends or snuggle up next to Dan.

But the best part? Oh, the absolute best part are the previews for other films. The more previews there are, the happier Kristin will be for the duration of the film she paid more than $10 to attend.

They speak to my thrifty soul. I’m going to tell you a secret.

Shhhhhhhhh.

It’s like getting FREE MOVIES, guys. Don’t tell the theaters, but it’s like they’re giving you more than you paid to see. ADDED BONUS.

I consider myself an expert on movie trailers, seeing as how I consume them like handfuls of pretzels and dark chocolate M&M’s. I even downloaded the Flixster app on my Android so I could watch trailers of upcoming films FOR FREE. Months in advance. It’s like a little sniff of spring in the middle of December. Addicting.

Imagine my delight, then, when as I was using Google Reader Play to, well, play around on the Internet I ran across this little number. Easily the most overlooked film of this year’s Academy Awards.

It is so snarktastic it took my breath away. The accuracy is commendable. Not to mention its extremely professional quality.  Too funny. Too, too funny.

It was written, directed and produced by two of the actors in the trailer, Brian and Nick. Graduates of the New York University’s Tisch School of the Arts, Brian and Nick put their college degrees to work in 2007 by creating short films purely for their own entertainment — which branches into our entertainment. Visit their Web site. Do it. Then add their RSS feed to your Google Reader. All the cool kids are doing it.

Their film made me LOL. Out loud, even.

Leave a Reply

Categories

