Posted by: Kristy | July 7, 2009

Clearly the world needs more copy editors. Where’s my job offer?

I received these in an e-mail yesterday and every time I thought I found the funniest one I moved on to the next and it was even funnier.

The worst part? I used to write headlines. A lot of them. Every day. There definitely were times looked at a head I thought made perfect sense only hours before and thought, “What the hell was I thinking?” (It happens, we’re not perfect. Except me, of course. Practically perfect in every way, right? 😉 )

I also read, collected and wrote too many days worth of police blotter. Ah, the police blotter.

I thought funny things happened in the ‘Netta, where the only thing that puts us on the map is Neil Armstrong, but our shennanigans are weak sauce compared with people’s petty and downright hilarious reports found below.

And don’t even get me started on the things people pay money to place in the classified section. Among ads for used cars, french fry server wanted ads and ones giving away kittens you can find some cr-a-zy stuff. No lie.

So, to that end, these make me cringe and sigh deeply, followed by a giggle chaser. Since I’ve been there. And want to help make it better.

This reminds me of the trailer for the film "The Time Traveler's Wife." Creepy.

I plan on bringing my biting wit as a weapon. Will that work?

Also, what is the definition of redundant?

Also, what is the definition of redundant?

Clearly the duck had something to hide.

Clearly the duck had something to hide.

Apparently the government never changes.

Apparently the government never changes.

What I really want to know is what they gave him as a solution.

What I really want to know is what they gave him as a solution.

Can I have 100 percent off because the ad makes no sense?

Can I have 100 percent off because the ad makes no sense?

 

Ummm, April Fools perhaps?

Ummm, April Fools perhaps?

ATT00007

Hey now, old people are funny, and that's no lie. Totally worth the investment.

Hey now, old people are funny, and that's no lie. Totally worth the investment.

Someone wasn't paying attention.

Someone wasn't paying attention.

And my favorite by far …

But if your name ISN'T Grady, just find a good stone carver. No prob.

But if your name ISN'T Grady, just find a good stone carver. No prob.

Now wasn’t that fun? So, again, clearly the journalism world still needs me. My people are standing by.

Leave a Reply

Categories

