Posted by: Kristy | June 17, 2009

Writer’s Workshop: Here me roar. Meow.

OK, so this week Mama Kat  had a couple high-quality prompts for the Writer’s Workshop. The first one was kind of fun, just because I’m looking forward to reading others’ “teasers” from the books they’re currently reading. I’m hoping to find some new reads to check out!

The prompt: Grab your current read. Let the book fall open to a random page and share two “teaser” sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12. (Inspired by Heather)

Captivate THIS
By Kristin

“Now, often the hardest person to fight for is … yourself. But you must. Your heart is needed.” p. 195

For more than a year my friend Amber and I have met weekly (or tried to meet weekly) for girl time and good conversation and to go through various Bible studies. We started with a study on Hebrews that kicked my butt and that I want to do again in a few months as a refresher. (But that couldn’t have anything to do with Hebrews being my favorite book of the Bible; oh, no, probably not.)

We moved on to one that was, well, kind of lack luster, but we made it through!  The last one we completed was from Joanna Weaver’s “Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World” and I very much recommend it to my fellow overachieving, people-pleasing, over-worked and tired women; trust me, those of us with that mentality, we have a LOT to learn … starting with the truth that we often make life — and loving God — more complicated than it is or has to be!

For our final study (Since she’s leaving me in July to get married and move 2 hours away. Psh. Marriage.) is on John and Staci Eldredge’s “Captivating.” John Eldredge wrote the book “Wild at Heart” about men (to put it very simply) and this is the ladies’ counterpart. It has very interesting points. I can get on board with quite a few of them. Others, I think they’re stretching to make their points fit. However, it’s definitely excellent food for thought.

Which is kind of how I felt about “Wild at Heart.” I would recommend it, though, for men and women to read. Yes, guys. I say read “Captivating” just as I say women should read the other. You might be surprised how your paragdims may shift when it comes to how you view the opposite sex, how you relate to them and how they relate to God.

Leave a Reply

Categories

