Posted by: Kristy | May 30, 2009

Shout Out Saturday: Of course they chose that one for the Christmas card

I know, I know. A Shout Out Saturday post? Actually on Saturday? You mean I’m following through on past ideas and promises to the blogosphere?

Yes. Yes, I am. You can stop mocking me now.

This Web site was brought to my attention earlier this week and, within the first 10 minutes of perusing, elicited many giggles and even a snort or two from this girl, right here.

The blog title alone is enough to draw me in. Seriously? Awkward Family Photos? It’s like a train wreck you can’t help but stare at as you drive past.

I, for one, know I have been involved in more than my fair share of awkward family photos. I’ll even share them with you, if you promise not to laugh (too hard).

This is one of those sites that needs to be viewed with a friendly, open mind. The purpose is not to be vicious or mean-spirited. It’s to share in something we all, seriously, all of us, have experienced at some point. Two childhood friends developed the idea in April while swapping embarrassing stories about their families. They realized they may have found a topic on which many, many other people could shed expert contributions, started a WordPress site and it was off.

“”There is something kind of cathartic for people about sharing the oddness of their families,” said Mike, one of the creators who did not share his last name. “And that’s what we hope the site will be — a communal celebration of awkwardness.”

Find more about the heart behind the awkwardness in this Time magazine article from earlier this month.

Maybe not the photos so much, though many are funny and painfully relate-able, but the cutlines alone had me gawffing into the silence of my living room. They’re so deliciously snarky.

There’s “Whiteout“, which reminds me of a family portrait we took with my mom’s side of the family back when I was, what, 13 years old? All I know is that we wore outfits JUST like this family and it was in the ’90s so I had the massive, laqered killer bangs going on a la Shannon Miller.

You know what they say– the family that caters together stays together.

You know what they say– the family that caters together stays together.

This “Big Love” photo’s caption cracked me up because for a really long time I was afraid that I’m so short I would end up married to someone who was ridiculously taller than I and that people would always wonder when we had children, “Well, wonder what kind of gymnastics they had to use to make that happen.”

I’m just sayin’.

The only thing more awkward than this photo had to be the night the baby was conceived.

The only thing more awkward than this photo had to be the night the baby was conceived.

Also, for the record, I think she’s sitting on the arm of the sofa.

And the, perhaps my favorite, is “Pssst.” For some reason, maybe because it was late at night, this engagement photo made me literally L-O-L. Except maybe I just have strange humor because I looked at it again and still laughed aloud.

This engagement photo lets the world know that not only are these two in love, but also in hiding.

This engagement photo lets the world know that not only are these two in love, but also in hiding.

All of these photos and many, many others are available for your viewing pleasure at AwkwardFamilyPhotos.com, along with their snarky, snarky cutlines.

Run there. Do it. Now.

You’ll laugh, I promise.

And because I love you all, here are some opportunities to pity chuckle at my expense. In the name of awkwardness, I give you …

Let's try to force ONE more "I'm proud" smile. Let's do it!

Let's try to force ONE more "I'm proud" smile. Let's do it!

It's easier to lean into the frame than to sit close enough to appear as if we like each other.

It's easier to lean into the frame than to sit close enough to appear as if we like each other.

We've been friends for three weeks. Let's snuggle on a NYC sidewalk.

We've been friends for three weeks. Let's snuggle on a NYC sidewalk.

This would be even more awkward if that wasn't my mother.

This would be even more awkward if that wasn't my mother.

Leave a Reply

Categories

