Posted by: Kristy | May 27, 2009

Writer’s Workshop: Can you hear the Von Trapp children singing backup?

 So, apparently my frustration last week and this is causing me to send sad vibes into the blogosphere, because even Mama Kat is jumping on board to give me reasons to get out of the mire. Do I want to take a few moments rest from the spinning vortex that is my mind and participate in this week’s Writer’s Workshop? Yes, please!

The prompt: List ten things that make you HAPPY. (inspired by our irritation at our own complaining from last weeks “Sick Of” posts.)

1. Falling asleep in the spring or summer to the sound of a thunderstorm. After watching the lightening from my balcony while drinking really good wine.

thunderstorm

2. Knowing that there are two places where I can be 100 percent myself — crazy quirks and all — and find peace and rest to my very core.

New York City

New York City

 

Columbus, OH

Columbus, OH

3. Taking pleasure in watching and delighting in God’s creation.

Sometimes, when I get stressed, I like to take a break and watch the squirrel who lives in the tree outside my office window. I named him Harvey and sometimes he gets really close and looks in and I talk to him. He reminds me that God provides even for his smallest creation — and how much more does he love me than he loves a squirrel? I was made in his image, darn it!

(He wouldn’t hold still long enough for me to take a photo. Silly squirrel.)

4. Beautiful grammar.

I own two Associated Press Bibles Stylebooks.  And Strunk and White’s little masterpiece, “The Elements of Style.” And copy edit as an OCD nervous tic. So, yeah. It is by far the dorkiest thing about me. I relish in it!

5. Music, especially anything Michael  Buble` or anything Gaelic Storm or anything with a strong Latin beat. I put my iPod ear buds in and pick up a book and life melts away into a warm glow left hovering around me.

If you click on the album cover you'll get a surprise. :-) And experience that warm glow I mentioned.

(If you click here you’ll experience that warm glow I mentioned. You might want to do it if you’re having a bad day. I’m just saying.)

gaelic

6. Strawberry shortcake. Any time. Any where. With extra strawberries.

7. Hugs.

I would be awesome at giving out free hugs!

I would be awesome at giving out free hugs!

I crave them. CRAVE. They are necessary for my mental and emotional well-being.

8.

800px-Smooth_Miniature_Dachshund_puppy

9. Writing. Can’t live without it.

Which is why I’m so thankful y’all actually read this. 😉 Or, at least, I pretend you do.

10. New shoes.

jimmy

But then, you knew that.

And my bonus “Things That Make Me Happy” answer …

11. Being able to share life with people whom I love and who love me. I take that for granted. Often.

These are a few of my favorite things.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I need to go sew play clothes out of curtains.

 

 

Responses

  1. Your list is so perfectly beautiful! I love it! I also LOVE those thunderstorms and those HOT shoes.

  2. Awesome pictures, awesome post!

  3. […] such a bad idea While compiling my list for Mama Kat’s Writer’s Workshop yesterday, I said the seventh thing that makes me happy […]

  4. this is a good idea to feel better about life. i’ll have to try it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

