Posted by: Kristy | May 21, 2009

Writer’s Workshop: After this I’ll pull a rabbit out of a hat

I know, I know. “Kristin decided to write TWO Writer’s Workshop posts? Gosh, life is good this week!”

I’m sure you’re all saying that in some form. Yeah, so this week I’m way inspired. And by inspired I mean stressed. Which automatically leads to an outpouring of ranting  writing. Woo hoo!

For my second trick of the day, I will mysteriously meld multiple prompts — Ooooh! Ahhhh!

The prompts: Memorial Day Weekend plans?? Do share! Put an outfit together using pictures you found online and show us what you’d LIKE to be wearing today. (inspired by Lace) and What have you been too busy to pay attention to? (inspired by Chris)

Memorial Day plans? Yes, please.

1) I will NOT be working.

This is the first Memorial Day in years that I have not covered an event or frantically designed a special graduation-themed tab for publication the next morning. As much as I enjoy taking photographs of commencement exercises and sitting for hours with my iPod and a blank newspaper page, this lack of having somewhere to be or a deadline to meet is … refreshing.

Which brings me to what I plan on filling that free time with …

2) I will be sleeping past 8 a.m. Probably until 9 or 9:30 a.m. That’s considered sleeping in. It will be blissful. After which I will wake up, fortify myself with Brazilian roasted liquid gold and spend time with my family.

3) I will watch Ryan Vetter’s coverage of the TONI&GUY Hairdressing Academy at 9:30 a.m. on Channel 11 News. The fun, friendly, go-with-the-flow Ryan visited our humble abode earlier this week, mic-ed up yours truly and spent an hour visiting and taping the amazing essence that is TONI&GUY in Toledo.

You should watch it, too. At 9:30 a.m. On Monday. Channell 11. Ryan Vetter. All the cool kids are doing it.

4) I plan to spend time with my former roommate, Annie, and her huband, Justin. I miss those crazy kids! This, also, is the first Memorial Day in years Annie hasn’t had to cover graduations and Memorial Day festivities with me. We’re so unsure of what to do with this free time we decided to just spend it together. A little laughter. Maybe some sushi. Ah, happiness.

5) Wedding! Which means praying over two of my friends as they promise God and each other to do life together. And hanging out with Lima friends. And convincing certain people that I’m FUN to dance with. Yeah.

6) Margarita Night with the girls! Oh, I need girl time desperately. 🙂 If I were dressing up for said Girls’ Night, this is what I would love to wear.

A little black dress is never wrong, and this is SO CUTE. Out of my price range, but so cute!

black dress

We all know I want to be Louis’ friend.

louis-vuitton-handbag-thumb

And who can forget Jimmy? Beautiful, beautiful Jimmy.

jimmy-choo-lois-snake-patent-pump

7) Working out. Which incorporates that which I have been too busy to pay attention to. I’ve gained 4 pounds since Christmas. And that might be why I’m so tired all of the time! Time to make time for sweaty elliptical dates with my iPod again. 🙂

8.) I plan on being on time for church this week. 😉

9) I will NOT be filing, filling out paperwork or making unnecessary telephone calls. Necessary, yes. But I plan on taking as much of a break as possible.

10) If anyone know of something I should be doing this weekend, I’m open to suggestions! 😉

Responses

  1. Sounds like your have your 3 day weekend all planned out! 🙂 Hope you have a safe and happy Memorial Day!

  2. re: “life is good this week”…my thoughts exactly.
    and i’m setting the dvr right now. channel 11, got it.
    and did i hear someone say “girl time?” hmmmmm….
    have fun this weekend!


Leave a Reply

Categories

