Posted by: Kristy | May 13, 2009

A good Wednesday distraction.

Pilfered this from Connie over at The Young and the Relentless. Since I always need some help getting through Wednesdays and sometimes these little Q&A sessions are kind of fun.
At least pretend to show interest in what I’m thinking, could ya? Thanks, guys!
 
1. What is your current obsession?
Blogging. It’s almost pathetic how much I enjoy this blog. I check my stats at least 10 times an hour — so every 6 minutes or so. Sad. Whenever I get a new comment I get excited like a girl noticed by the prom king and the captain of the hockey team all in the same day. (Because hockey guys are always going to be hotter than football guys. That’s just the way it is.) I’m always on the lookout for new blog fodder and for a new angle on a funny story that happened in my day to which others can relate.
I also am hooked on downloading episodes of “ER” on iTunes. I’ve turned it into a game, reading episode guides on Wikipeida and finding the best episodes on which to spend my money.
Since I also am going through the Valley of the Shadow of Insomnia these last two months or so, I’m flying through my reading list, becoming very well-versed in the history of “Law & Order: CI” and “Law & Order: SVU” and honing my mad baking skillz, yo.
I would like for a new obsession to become sleeping. Alas, it’s just not meant to be. (Yes, sir, I will get it checked by a physician … eventually. I KNOW! I’m just not ready to admit defeat. It’s getting better.)
 
2. Which item of clothing do you wear most often?
My black, fitted suit blazer  and my tall, black patent leather peep-toed Jessica Simpson heels. Those two items go with ANYTHING. I wish I would have purchased multiples of each. Oh, and my Claddagh ring. I would feel naked without that ring. I absolutely adore the symbolism behind the Claddagh. Those of you who don’t know the legend 1) FOR SHAME and 2) go read it now. Right now. You won’t regret it, especially if you’re a sap like me.
 
3. What’s for dinner?
I’m thinking baked chicken with raspberry glaze and roasted potatoes. Because I like to pratice being domestic and such. But if I get to busy it may end up being a Lean Cuisine. Because I also can be lame like that. 😉

4. What are you listening to?
My lover, Michael Buble. With a little Gaelic Storm thrown in. It’s my relaxing music, which perfectly fits this drizzly day.

5. Say something about the one who tagged you.
Weeeel, Connie didn’t really tag me. I invited myself to play along. Because those are the kind of awkward social skills I exhibit at times. But if I were to say something about Connie it’s that she has excellent taste in literature, always comments back when you send her snaps about a post, seems to pretty much adore her children and, I love this part, isn’t afraid to put herself out there in the blogosphere. Anyone who appreciates the cringe-factor of their adolescence will find humor in the Connie Diaries.

6. Favorite vacation spots?
Dublin, Ireland

Dublin, Ireland

 

My City. I think we need to have a weekend tryst soon, Manhattan. Very soon.
My City. I think we need to have a weekend tryst soon, Manhattan. Very soon.
Good, ol' Rocky Top. Rocky Top, Tenn.

Good, ol' Rocky Top. Rocky Top, Tenn.

 

7. What am I reading right now?
“The Shack.” It’s taking me a while to get through it because first I love it and then I struggle with it, then back and forth we go. It’s definitely making me think outside of my carefully constructed box, which is good.

Shack

Just finished “Pretty in Plaid,” by Ms. Jen Lancaster. It was very excellent, but not my favorite. That still belongs to “Bright Lights, Fat Ass.” Still, Jen in all of her snarkiness can be my BFF, if she wants. Or at least a really fun wine-drinking buddy! 😉

PIP

I also am rereading “Twilight” — I can’t help it! It’s become comfort food for my brain.

Eclipse

8. Four words to describe myself.
Passionate, organized, bubbly and obsessive. (I feel the need to qualify obsessive. Not creepy obsessive, but border-line unhealthy obsessive — it’s a negative quality but controllable. Like, obsessive about work, obsessive about performance, obsessive about making people happy. Yeah.)

9. Guilty pleasure?
A really good bottle of Riesling (anything that costs more than $10 is really good in my frugal book), turning off my cell phone and reading a book or watching a chick flick.

10. First spring thing to do?
Sit on the porch drinking iced tea with my grandma! She’s the absolute coolest.

11. What do I look forward to?
Figuring out my plan for the “next step.” I always have a plan in life and right now, while I am content and happy in what I’m doing and finding the challenges and adventures, I feel like I’m spinning my wheels. I need to develop a game plan. I can’t wait.

And now, my lovelies, it is time to return to my super hot day of filing and e-mailing and making telephone calls. Try not to be too jealous.

Responses

  1. I have this Claddagh that I’ve worn for several years, don’t go a day without it (until I traded it in a couple months ago for a diamond).

    Last year, before I was dating anyone, it was worn the way that communicates “I’m available.” I got in line at Walmart and the creepy cashier says to me, “Oh, you have a Claddagh?!?! Do you know what it means?” And I said “Yes.” And he said, too enthusiastically, “So you’re not dating anyone?” “Uh, no. But I’m not looking either.” He launched into this whole explanation about how he’s Irish and it’s hard to find Irish girls in Tennessee… I should’ve told him that my standards were high and included proper hygiene. But I digress.

    I successfully avoided his lane for several months but ran into him once stocking shelves and he said “Why won’t you go out with me, Claddagh girl?” Ugh.

    Then, after I started dating James and got to flip my Claddagh around, in a moment of weakness I ended up (totally unintentionally) in this same cashier’s lane. Great. He looked at me and said “That is a beautiful Claddagh…” I agreed and he dropped it. Until I went to leave and he said “Lucky guy!”

    Wow.

    My sister keeps telling me to go back, get in his lane and flash the diamond in his face. I have decided a more subtle approach — avoiding Walmart entirely.

    Oh — and I saw Kim Collins’ update on facebook, about the new group of students at WJI, and was instantly jealous. I miss NYC every May! Let’s go back!


Leave a Reply

Categories

