Posted by: Kristy | April 23, 2009

Writer’s Workshop: Move Over, Jonas Brothers

Writer’s Workshop time, courtesy of Mama Kat. 🙂 Where y’all pretend to enjoy reading my ramblings.

And there was great rejoicing throughout the land.

Riiiiiight.

Anyway, here we go.

This week’s prompt: When is it okay not to listen to the words? Explain about a song you really love that has lame lyrcis or lyrics you simply don’t understand.(writingfix.com)

It’s a Secret No One Knows
By Kristin

I blame Olivia Newton-John and John Travolta.

Really, I do.

The summer I was 11, my cousin Stephanie and I listened to the “Grease” soundtrack an approximate total of eleventy billion times. During the course of a three-day weekend.

That Labor Day Weekend, two scrawny brunette pre-teens lay on the boat dock with a cassette tape player between them — that’s right, cassette tape. I realize it’s no 8-track, but shut up, it still makes me feel old — while their cousins fished and argued and swam around them, taking breaks to eat or play Kick the Can or join the occasional fishing expedition. They gazed at the powder blue sky while “We Go Together” spawned visions in their imaginations, visions where their hair gained volume, their bodies became more voluptuous and their coy smiles drew every eye to them while they shimmied and shook with Danny in Sandy’s place, while wearing the requisite tight, black leather hot pants, spike heels and a black leather jacket, of course.

By the completion of that Monday afternoon, I was hooked. The upbeat harmonies. The chiming, jingling choruses. The sultry transformation from girl-next-door to hot-sexy-vixin and, of course, the idea that true love truly does conquer. How could the next year top the Summer of “Grease”?

Well, when you plant a seed, plant a flower or plant a rose and you see which one grows … one may grow into the absurd addiction from which so many young girls suffered in the early ’90s.

Hanson Mania.

Ah, Zac. Isaac. Taylor. I never admitted it at the time — I was much too cool, then, and covered my adoration by rolling my eyes in disgust every time one of my peers began squealing when she pasted a new photo of Zac and his greasy, gross hair in her locker — but “Mmmmbop” got in my soul. It made me want to dance.

It did NOT make me fantasize about making out with Taylor. I didn’t think they were attractive at all. But their song. Oh, their song.

The upbeat harmonies. The chiming, jingling choruses. The idea that true friendship truly does last forever. (I found that part out later.)

The only problem? While I could karaoke “Summer Nights” (boys’ and girls’ parts, woot) and “Hand Jive” like nobody’s business, I had not a clue what my (secretly) beloved boys were saying.

I mean, I hazard a guess.

“In an mmmbop do bow.”

“So go to the laundry and stay there.”

Yeah, totally wasn’t getting anywhere.

Can you tell me? No, you can’t, ‘cuz you don’t know. It was a secret truly no one knew.

So I just waited and chimed in on the “Mmmmbop. Do wop. Mmmmmbop. Yea-ah.”

It wasn’t enough to stop me from falling deeper. And deeper. And deeper. (One may say it turned chaos into art.)

I finally looked the lyrics up years later, when I was in college and finally could admit my addiction, with a self-deprecating chuckle. Many, many years later.

By that time, the trio just had released a new album, “Underneath.” They also had hit and survived puberty, and I had no problem publicly expressing how much I enjoyed their new sound.

There definitely was something going round on that CD, and their music since has been a fresh combination of bluesy, jazzy ballads with a hint of pop running through them.

I never lived down from my family and, especially, my dance partner, Jay, for how I adored “Mmmmbop.” Jay gave me such a hard time that I finally made the song the ringtone when he called me, just to torture him with having it associated with him.

I don’t care that it was lame. Or that they were girly, greasy and groddy as pre-pubescents.

I guess you just have to love somebody to know.

** I can’t wait to see who, if anyone, catches the song references in here. Even if no one does and I’m just a big dork, I laughed at my own wittiness. Hey, it’s late. **

Responses

  1. i caught it. i was actually humming the song. yep, you caught me.. fellow dork. still have the cd somewhere i think. so what were the words? was it really about laundry?

  2. Haha, no, it’s not about laundry. It’s about friendship? Yeah. Friendship. And how quickly someone you think is going to be around forever can disappear from your life. In an MMMBop. Whatever the heck kind of time measurement and mmmbop is. Kind of like the sister to the nanosecond?

    Here are the real lyrics, according to elyrics.net:

    MMMBop lyrics
    Oh oh oh oh oh
    Yeah

    You have so many relationships in this life
    Only one or two will last
    You go through all the pain and strife
    Then you turn your back and they’re gone so fast
    Oh yeah
    And they’re gone so fast, yeah
    Oh
    So hold on the ones who really care
    In the end they’ll be the only ones there
    And when you get old and start losing your hair
    Tell me who will still care
    Can you tell me who will still care?
    Oh care

    Mmmbop, ba duba dop
    Ba du bop, ba duba dop
    Ba du bop, ba duba dop
    Ba du
    Yeah
    Mmmbop, ba duba dop
    Ba du bop, Ba du dop
    Ba du bop, Ba du dop
    Ba du
    Yeah

    Oh yeah
    In an Mmmbop they’re gone
    Yeah yeah

    Plant a seed, plant a flower, plant a rose
    You can plant any one of those
    Keep planting to find out which one grows
    It’s a secret no one knows
    It’s a secret no one knows
    Oh, no one knows

    Mmmbop, ba duba dop
    Ba du bop, ba duba dop
    Ba du bop, ba duba dop
    Ba du, yeah
    Mmmbop, ba duba dop
    Ba du bop, Ba du dop
    Ba du bop, Ba du dop
    Ba du, yeah

    Oh
    Yeah oh

    In an mmm bop they’re gone
    Oh yeah oh
    In an mmmbop they’re gone
    In an mmm bop they’re not there
    In an mmmbop they’re gone
    In an mmm bop they’re not there
    In an mmmbop they’re gone
    In an mmmbop they’re not there
    In an mmmbop they’re gone
    In an mmmbop they’re not there
    Until you lose your hair
    Oh
    But you don’t care

    Mmmbop, ba duba dop
    Ba du bop, ba duba dop
    Ba du bop, ba duba dop
    Ba du, yeah
    Mmmbop, ba duba dop
    Ba du bop, Ba du dop
    Ba du bop, Ba du dop
    Ba du, yeah

    Yeah
    Oh yeah oh oh
    So hold on the ones who really care
    In the end they’ll be the only ones there
    And hen you get old and start losing your hair
    Tell me who will still care
    Can you tell me who will still care?
    Oh care

    Mmmbop, ba duba dop
    Ba du bop, ba duba dop
    Ba du bop, ba duba dop
    Ba du, yeah
    Mmmbop, ba duba dop
    Ba du bop, Ba du dop
    Ba du bop, Ba du dop
    Ba du, care

    Can you tell me? oh
    No you can’t ’cause you don’t know
    Can you tell me? oh
    You say you can but you don’t know
    Can you tell me? oh
    (Which flower’s going to grow?)
    No you can’t ’cause you don’t know
    Can you tell me? oh
    (If it’s going to be a daisy or a rose?)
    You say you can but you don’t know
    Can you tell me? oh
    (which flower’s going to grow?)
    No you can’t ’cause you don’t know
    Can you tell me? oh
    You say you can but you don’t know
    Oh yeah
    You say you can but you don’t know
    You dont know
    You dont know, oh

    Mmmbop, ba duba dop
    Ba du bop, ba duba dop
    Ba du bop, ba duba dop
    Ba du, yeah
    Mmmbop, ba duba dop
    Ba du bop, Ba du dop
    Ba du bop, Ba du dop
    Ba du, care

    Oh
    Can u tell me? oh
    No you can’t ’cause you don’t know
    Can u tell me? oh
    You say you can but you don’t know
    Can u tell me? oh
    No you can’t ’cause you don’t know
    Can u tell me?
    You say you can but you don’t know

  3. I think that was the first CD I ever owned. Yes I was a Hanson freak, and am embarassed to admit it…


Leave a Reply

Categories

