Posted by: Kristy | March 30, 2009

Why didn’t I think of this?

I was enjoying my Google News time this morning when the story below caught my eye and ignited my “what the hell’s the matter with people” response. However, then I started thinking. Apparently there are some pretty easy ways to become independently wealthy — I just have yet to try any of them.

Exhibit A

This might be the auto industry’s equivalent of spending all your money on cute clothes, asking Mom and Dad to pay to put gasoline in your car and give you money for food, and then taking yourself on an exotic vacation for a week. Or something to that effect.

GM’s CEO to receive $20 million retirement package.

GM's CEO Rick Wagoner, the man who is to walk away with a $20 million retirement package. Wait, didn't the government bail out his company? (AP photo)

GM's CEO Rick Wagoner, the man who is to walk away with a $20 million retirement package. Wait, didn't the government bail out his company? (AP photo)

Hey, Mom and Dad, how would you feel about me moving back into my old bedroom — rent free? Also, can I have some money to go to the movies and out to dinner? Oh, and can you drive me to Best Buy so I can buy a new iPod, and iPhone and a Macbook Pro? Thanks.

Exhibit B

Or, I could get knocked up with no intention of marrying the father or finding a way to support myself and my family. It’s easier to let other people do it.

Nadya Suleman, dubbed "Octo-mom" across the nation, underwent fertility treatments as a mother of six children. She now has a brood of 14 and is employed as a graduate student. I totally see the logic in that.

Nadya Suleman, dubbed "Octo-mom" across the nation, underwent fertility treatments as a mother of six children. She now has a brood of 14 and is employed as a graduate student. I totally see the logic in that.

Yes, I know many, many other people are up in arms about the drama and, ahem, obscene cost swirling around Nadya Suleman. But this continues to anger me on many levels. At least she now admits it probably wasn’t the best idea. Hindsight’s always 20/20, huh, Nadya?

Exhibit C

Just because it’s funny and oh, so true.

economy

Maybe I’m not as smart as I’ve believed all these years. Huh.

Responses

  1. exhibit c rocks my world. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

