Posted by: Kristy | March 27, 2009

Stock in Barnes & Noble is about to skyrocket.

The Brother called this morning. Please understand, this is a once-quarterly occurance, if that. Maybe once every trimester.

He sounded happy. Excited to be speaking with me. The happy tingling in my belly at some sibling interaction mixed with slight suspicion into a very interesting cocktail. Either the sky is falling or grab your ice skates, kid, because Hell just froze over. (Kidding. Kinda.)

And before he even said it I had hope. We’ve all been hoping for this statement in the various forms applicable to us, for a couple months (years for my mother):

“I just wanted to tell you (dramatic pause) that you’re going to be an aunt.”

I could picture the self-satisfied grin stretching impishly across his handsome face, the military man in him carefully concealing his excitement — but just barely. I wanted to crawl through my Blackberry and attack him with all of the big sister force inside my tiny body, but settled for doing a victory jig in my office and squealing. Loudly. Multiple times.

And then I hung up the phone and cried. Happy tears. And prayed for The Baby. And prayed for Sister-in-Law (SIL) to be healthy. And The Brother to be wise. And then though, “I have to go shopping!”

I’m going to be an aunt.

My baby brother is going to be a daddy. Wait, wasn’t I just wrestling with this kid in our living room on Woodland Lane, using every ounce of my then-90 pounds to pin him to the ground? (Yeah, you can guess how long it’s been since I was able to pin him. About 15 years.)

It was just yesterday I broke his arm when I pushed him off our cousin Joe’s shoulders while I rode atop our other cousin Paul’s shoulders in a dry-land game of chicken. (Who needs a pool when you have vast expanses of barnyard.)

And it was only last week when 3-year-old Kristin cried when for Christmas 1986 Mommy and Daddy gave her underwear and a brother. As if that’s any consolation for the Fisher Price Barn set I really wanted.

But now he’s a man. A man who married a beautiful woman with whom I ache to continue building a friendship. A man who put on a uniform and got on a plane to spend months in a desert sleeping with a gun under his pillow to protect his and other men’s families. A man who is going to bring a new life into this crazy world.

Man, God rocks my socks. I can hardly wait until December.

I’m so going to the bookstore tonight. This kid needs to begin building a book collection STAT. I hope SIL lets me buy his/her first pair of shoes. That would be the best!

Responses

  1. Congrats to your brother and his wife. You are going to be an amazing aunt!!!

  2. […] As excited as I am to be a first-time aunt come December-ish, I’m a little freaked out, too. […]

  3. […] when I first found out my sister-in-law was preggers? Or when I tried to write Cooper a letter about how excited we were? […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

