Posted by: Kristy | March 18, 2009

I miss headline writing.

I adore the Associated Press.

Really, I do, even though the BBC is right up there on my list of places to find snappy, constantly-updated news. (We won’t count Twitter as a news service, per say. Not yet.) Reuters not so much. A part of me still dreams and aspires to write features for the AP, I love and respect them that much. But I digress.

However, one of the things I find humorous and ironic about journalism is how we as an industry have those stories we run year, after year, after year. Sure we try to find a new angle, but more often than not it’s just a straight news story that is pretty much the same story as the year before with some updates. And then it’s up to the copy editors/designers to make people read it.

Which is why I always chuckle when I see headlines like this that try to act like something new and unexpected happened. But I’ve been there. In Wapak, we were all about the recycled annual event. The Cridersville Fireman’s Jamboree. Summer Moon Festival. The St. Joseph Fourth of July event. Kind of the nature of the beast. But I’m still allowed to laugh at it.

Responses

  1. and here i thought that having the phrases “drunken mayhem” and “St. Patrick’s day” in one sentence was redundant….


Leave a Reply

Categories

