Posted by: Kristy | February 23, 2009

Hollywood’s Golden Boy

I felt like a little girl — in junior high school, perhaps — trying to maintain a “cool” facade while hiding the fact that I still slept with a teddy bear at night.

That’s how last night began for me as I sat in a diner eating with my parents. Dad’s talking away about work, Mom’s poking at her salad and I’m staring over their heads, glued to the TV in the corner. Something much more intersting than marketing plans and student start dates was occupying my attention … pretty dresses and shiny jewelry and Robert Pattinson peering broodingly into the camera during the Oscars red carpet walk.

“Whatcha watchin?” Dad finally realized I wasn’t listening.

“Oh, um, yeah, digital billboards. I’m totally on board.”

“That’s OK … what is that?”

“Nothing (embarassed pause). The Oscars. I’m watching the Oscars.”

I don’t know why I adore the Academy Awards so. Maybe it’s the fairy tale of it. Maybe it’s becuase I am so hooked on popular culture and fashion and the entertainment industry as a whole. It’s fascinating!

It’s like cotton candy to me. Too much gives me a headache, but I can’t stop eating it up. It’s addictive.

Regardless, I finally gave up pretenses when I got home and ate up the entire show, Twittering all the while. Since the entire world cared to hear my up-to-the-minute take on Natalie Portman’s dress. Or Adrian Brody’s head of grease … erm, hair. Or Sean Penn’s acceptance speech.

This year’s show had enough high points to keep me entertained. It also provided some wonderful opportunities for snark.

The best parts?

1. A lot of the fashion was mouthwatering. Kate Winslet, Halle Berry, Anne Hathaway, Natalie Portman, Penelope Cruz, Alicia Keys and Miley Cyrus, among others, looked absolutely gorgeous.

Natalie Portman

Natalie Portman

 

Penelope Cruz

Penelope Cruz

Miley Cyrus: I read some critiques that said her dress was a poor choice. I think it flatters her and is unique.

Miley Cyrus: I read some critiques that said her dress was a poor choice. I think it flatters her and is unique.

2. Heath Ledger won “Best Supporting Actor” for his work as the Joker in “The Dark Knight.” His family accepted on his behalf and I think everyone was a bit teary.

Heath Ledger's family

Heath Ledger's family

3. Robert Pattinson on the red carpet pre-show. He’s beautiful. And broody. Sigh.

Edward Cullen ... oops, Robert Pattinson. Either way ... mmmmmmm. :-)

Edward Cullen ... oops, Robert Pattinson. Either way ... mmmmmmm. 🙂

4. Kate Winslet won “Best Actress” for “The Reader,” which I really want to see after reading the book. I’m sure she’s a-ma-zing.

Kate Winslet was super cute during her acceptance speech. A little unpolished, but cute.

Kate Winslet was super cute during her acceptance speech. A little unpolished, but cute.

5. Rob Pattinson (and that Amanda girl from “Mamma Mia”) presenting a montage of film romance this year.

6. Will Smith makes me chuckle. As does Ben Stiller.

7. I’m really thinking “Slumdog Millionare” has an amazing soundtrack.

8. Hugh Jackman was an awesome host. Hot and professional and charming and totally as un-cocky as can be. He and Beyonce did a little (OK, large) musical production, showtune montage with some help from Zac Efron, Vanessa Hudgens, Amanda Seyfried and her partner whose name I couldn’t find. Parts of it were good. Others weren’t. But that’s show biz.

86944_hugh-jackman-and-beyonce-perform-at-the-2009-oscars

9. I like Sean Penn. So I’m glad he won.

Sean Penn won "Best Actor" for the film "Milk" in which he portrays a homosexual politician.

10. My favorite part? Watching Danny Boyle every time “Slumdog Millionaire” won. He was like a little boy, smiling and flashing thumbs up and being a bundle of excitement. He was all, yeah, sound guys! Way to mix sound and win an Oscar! Yeah, best original song, woot! Woo-hoo, cinemetography. Yeah, go team!!!

Danny Boyle, I just want to give you a hug.

Danny Boyle, I just want to give you a hug.

And then he won, which was cool. And then his movie won, which was even cooler.

The not so best parts?

1. Zac Effron, wash your hair.

Zac Efron. You're so cute. So why the decidedly un-cute 'do?

Zac Efron. You're so cute. So why the decidedly un-cute 'do?

2. Adrian Brody, PLEASE wash your hair.

3. Mickey Rourke, just shave your head.

4. Sean Penn, I like you. I’m glad you won. I respect the passion you put into the political ideals behind your movie. But you’re a bit arrogant, and your acceptance speech rubbed me the wrong way.

5. Sarah Jessica Parker, loved your dress. Not so much your hair. Maybe I’m just on a hair kick this year.

6. Things got a little slow there in the middle. Maybe one less montage? Maybe?

And the 7., 8., 9., and 10. worst things? I didn’t get to witness it in person! If anyone hears of E!, Access Hollywood or MTV hiring, shoot me a holla.

(Photos courtesy of MTV.com and  Access Hollywood.)

Here’s a complete list of winners.

Responses

  1. Oh, I was allllll over the TV when Rob Pattinson made an appearance. Dangit, I love him.

    I loved Miley’s dress. People are comparing her to a Christmas treet, but I thought it was cute.

    LOVE Kate Winslet. Also loved the book – haven’t seen the movie.

    Ditto all the hair washing stuff. Seriously.

  2. okay, so i didn’t watch it, cuz i never do, but your post incited curiosity. So I say ditto to Penelope Cruz’s dress, it’s stunning and I want to get married (again-same guy) in it, double ditto (is there such thing?) to R. Pattison (he makes me drool a little) and honestly, this sounds weird, but i have an adrian brody thing regardless of the hair. i think it’s the nose. or the onscreen persona. not really sure.

  3. If you really wanted a job out in hollywood, I could make some calls, and talk to some friends, and see if there is any strings I could pull.

    I know how fascinating the entertainment business can be, but when your near it, it is not as glamorous as it appears to be.

    However I do understand the lure and how fascinating the fashion, design and looks are, it is what draws attention to the industry which loves to feed upon itself.

    Well that is my two sense for now. I could talk all day on this subject if I wanted to, but I don’t at least not now.

  4. […] suppose Zac Efron’s hair at this year’s Academy Awards proves he is ready to take on the persona of grease ball heart throb of the current age of […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

