Posted by: Kristy | January 13, 2009

Nothing can come out if you don’t open your mouth

I tend not to make New Year resolutions. I just like to do some self-evaluation and dreaming for the upcoming year. But I don’t like to call them resolutions. I like to call them “fresh starts.” 🙂 Maybe it’s just a phrasing thing, but I like to think of these fresh starts as life enhancements and not just something to try and discard at the end of the year.

An-ee-way …

I have a few this year.

* Be better at manually keeping track of my checking account and not just looking at it online. (That means using that check register I learned how to use in my high school bookkeeping class. A critical part of my education, it would seem.)

* Stop letting people walk all over me. I tend to do this. I error on the side of nice-in-a-wimpy-way. No more! Or maybe a better way of phrasing it is I’m not going to let people with whom I have emotional ties or past emotional tied guilt trip me unnecessarily in a manipulative or taking advantage way. Yeah. 🙂

* I’m going to rebuild life. I’m in a new city. With a new career. So I’m going to make new friends and make an effort to puruse old friends. I’m going to be happy again. Not overtly stressed and allowing my emotions and nerves to control me. Wow, what a concept.

* I’m going to feed myself bread AND water when it comes to my relationship with God. I tend to be very good at connecting with God through prayer, but, let’s be honest, I hardly ever read my Bible. But if a person only drinks water and never eats, they die. If they only eat breat but never drink, they die. I don’t want my spirit to die. So it’s time to supplement my diet.

* I’m going to take the time to put actions behind my words and actually do some of the things I dream of doing. That means taking trips to visit people I love who have been inviting me to see them for almost three years. That means going back to school, or even taking a community class. That means reading more because I want to. That means stop paying lip service to dreams and making them happen.

* I’m going to take chances. This means being uncomfortable sometimes. Or often. So be it.

** And to that end, enter a story about Kristin taking chances and having the potential to be uncomfortable and having it end up rocking hardcore excellent.

I extended an offer of friendship to a person I have wanted to be friends with for a long time. Like, eight years long time. And they are a pretty intimidating individual.

And for the past few months we’ve been working together (looooong story; like, eight years long) and it’s seemed like we were becoming friends — or at least having a really good time picking on each other. So today I just said, “Hey, I have a proposition for you. I just moved and need friends. You’re fun. If you ever want a friend, let me know.” 

And it was easy after the words were out of my mouth. And I received a very favorable response. And who knows? I might have made an actual friend instead of a fun-to-pick-on work aquaintace. But I never would have known if I hadn’t spoken up! **

So I guess that brings me to my next “fresh start”:

* I want to be as bold and confident in my personal life as I am in my professional life. Professionally, I can act like I know what’s up until the cows come home. It’s part of being a professional is to at least pretend like you know what you’re doing until you figure it out or find the right person to ask. I want to be the confident, cute, business-like little spitfire when I’m Kristin just as Kristin the same as when I’m Kristin go-get-’em businesswoman.

I think I’m on my way to a good start. 🙂

Responses

  1. Wow. I can’t help but smile 🙂
    Now here’s a little something to read in regards to your bible study (or lack thereof), and life in general:

    “…that he might make thee know that man doth not live by bread only, but by every word that proceedeth out of the mouth of the LORD doth man live.” Deuteronomy 8:3

    and Jesus, being the living word of God, repeats this in the NT…

    “…It is written, Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceedeth out of the mouth of God.” Matthew 4:4

    So the lesson is my dear friend, that if you can only truly live on God’s word, that you need to make that word as much a part of your flesh as you can by devouring it each and every day 🙂

    You are what you eat, right?

  2. […] really need to work on that whole being an emotional basket case habit I have. It was one of my New Year “fresh starts,” and I was doing so well, damn […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

