Posted by: Kristy | January 1, 2009

Someone must have slipped a chill pill in my wine

So get this:

After my past history and all of the mental prep work I did leading up to last night, when the Big Moment finally came …

I didn’t freak out in the last 10 seconds of 2008.

Maybe it was because there was such a rush to get all 30 of us crammed in the living room before the ball actually dropped that I was sufficiently distracted.

Maybe it was because we didn’t actually count down starting from 10 so I didn’t have the painfully building anticipation.

Maybe it was because I was sitting next to one of my best friends and surrounded by people who have become my extended family, my foster family while I was away from home for so long. And we all just swarmed into 2009 in a great big hugging, laughing, cheering mass — instead of me feeling so isolated and alone and scared of what was coming next. They’re part of my safety net, you know. 🙂

Maybe it was because I am so ready for new adventures and for the idea of a fresh chance to fulfill the planning and dreaming in my head that has been reignited after how the end of 2008 went down. I plan on going from shitty to super, thank you very much.

And maybe, just maybe, it was because … I might be getting a little calmer and wiser along with that dreaded getting older.

No matter what the cause, yesterday was the best New Year’s Eve I’ve had in a very, very long time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

