Posted by: Kristy | December 15, 2008

They are glamorous. It’s not even pretend.

This Saturday we hosted the first-ever TONI&GUY Hairdressing Academy Toledo Christmas Expo. It was awesome!

We held the event at the Maumee Indoor Theatre, a formerly run-down movie theater that was revamped a few years ago. The huge stage was perfect for the show, complete with stage lighting, stadium seating and an LED display announcing our party above the movie poster I made. The coolest part? Our name in lights on the marquee.

Seeing this made me smile so large I thought my face would split.

Seeing this made me smile so large I thought my face would split.

Yeah, pretty sweet.

The lovely ladies of Alpha Xi Delta, Bowling Green State University chapter, served as our hair models and those girls are troopers. They did an amazing job! All of them were beautiful and had great attitudes. The models were styled in five categories — Urban, Rockstar, Glamour , B for Men and Fantasy.

Great thanks to Jeffery Laurence, his partner Jeff, and Matthew Vincente for donating their time and for all of the hard work they put into styling and makeup, as well as Ashlee, one of our instructors. Jeffrey donated his salon space for the entire day — much appreciated!

It was fun to see our students interacting with each other and with industry professionals who can help steer them in the directions the wish to travel. (And I had a pretty great time playing fashion photographer. The hot male models didn’t hurt, either!)

Jeff working on Shannon's makeup.

Jeff working on Shannon's makeup.

Some of the beautiful Alpha Xi Delta girls, chilling at the Jeffery Lawrence salon.

Some of the beautiful Alpha Xi Delta girls, chilling at the Jeffery Laurence salon.

Matthew giving Deavin a glamour look.

Matthew giving Deavin a glamour look.

Jeffrey works on Ashley's makeup.

Jeffrey works on Ashley's makeup.

Ashlee's so creative! Did we mention she rocks?

Ashlee's so creative! Did we mention she rocks?

Kate and Jessie strike a pose. The arts reporter/photographer in me had a field day with this event.

Kate and Jessie strike a pose. The arts reporter/photographer in me had a field day with this event.

I love Kayla's gems. So pretty.

I love Kayla's gems. So pretty.

I was so proud of this poster. It turned out exactly how I wanted!

I was so proud of this poster. It turned out exactly how I wanted!

088_88

So now we’re all even more excited to start. Is it January yet?

Leave a Reply

Categories

