Posted by: Kristy | October 21, 2008

Climbing high into the sun*

My little brother deployed for Iraq today. Standing on the tarmac with the other families, watching a little ant-line of brown-and-gray clad figures climb into a massive (seriously, huge) plane after hours of hanging out at the base wondering what the heck was happening next (it’s the military, which means hurry up and wait 😉 ) I had the same tingly feeling I got in my belly when we went to Texas for his graduation from Basic Training in 2007. That wave of desire to run up to every person standing in formation and crush them with a Kristin hug.

Regardless of your politics, I think every person needs to be a spectator at some ceremony or event like that. If nothing else, I almost guarantee you will want to hug or shake the hand of every man and woman wearing those uniforms. At least tell them “thank you.” Like that day two summers ago, this afternoon I found tears smarting behind my eyes, not because I was sad or worried for Matt and his friends. They’ll be just fine. No, it’s because I looked at my little brother and had such a huge rush of overwhelming respect for him. I don’t always feel that way about his actions or the way he treats people, but the more I see him change from my kid brother into a man — in actions, speech and otherwise — I sometimes get really emotional about it. Especially when you mix in a few parts patriotism, an half cup of pride and a pinch of sisterly concern.

* Since I first heard it, the Air Force Song is like a non-annoying commercial jingle. It just gets stuck in my head, even though I know no more than the first line. So I just hum it. And sing the “Off we go into the wild blue yonder, climbing high into the sun.”

Responses

  1. I can only imagine the pride you feel for your brother. My thanks and the thanks of my family go out to him and to your family. This is a huge scarifice for all of you, but especially for him. Freedom is precious; it takes blood to protect it.
    We will pray for your brother and all our brave hero’s who are doing for us what we can’t do for ourselves.
    Many thanks,
    Barbie


Leave a Reply

Categories

