Posted by: Kristy | October 7, 2008

HI! I HAVE ENERGY! I WANT TO GO TO YOUR SCHOOL!

So I just returned from the College Fair at Woodward High School armed with 21 live senior contacts, a handful of interested juniors and sophomores, and the encouragement I need to get me through the next round of this week’s complications. Oh, and I made a new friend.

A new friend who is so excited about coming to the TONI&GUY Hairdressing Academy here in Toledo that he talks IN ALL CAPS! WITH EXCLAMATION POINTS!! EXCLAMATION POINTS IN ABUNDANCE!!! THE EXCLAMATION POINTS WERE RUNNING RAMPANT AROUND OUR TABLE BY THE END OF THE MORNING!!!!!

It rocked. Donovan (that’s his name, we’re going to be tight) was so beside himself talking about hair design and why he enjoys it and the kind of high-energy, upbeat and fun atmosphere he’s looking for in a school — hmmm, sound like anyone we know? He just made me smile. He kept asking questions and bringing his friends over to show them and encouraging other people to sign up. When it was time for him to go to class, he gave me a high five and said he couldn’t wait to get together and learn more … and promised to do something funky with my look (glam me up boy, go for it). !!!!! (Sorry, stray exclamation points.)

He just really made me smile.

Those are the kind of students we want. Creative and passionate and energetic. He made my job so enjoyable this morning. That’s the power of being positive and upbeat. !! A single person being mean or unkind or grumpy can have a drastic affect on others’ moods, but in the same vein, someone like my new buddy can have an even greater affect on even more people’s moods. !!! I really want to see him in this academy come June or July. Just so he can make me smile every day.

I’m going to pray for at least one Donovan at every high school I visit. !!! IT WOULD BE SO FUN!!!

I just shook my purse and these !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! fell out. 😉

Responses

  1. Girl, just stumbled across your blog while looking to pass time on facebook… 😉

    I had to say your closing line made me laugh out loud.

    We need a WJI reunion!

    Or should I say “We need a WJI reunion!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”?


Leave a Reply

Categories

