Posted by: Kristy | September 20, 2008

Hagel joins the political haggling

Oh, dear. John, John, John … I still don’t know how to feel about your girl there. Opinion pending. But I liked Sen. Chuck Hagel (R-Nebraska) when I researched him as part of Democratic presidential candidate Sen. Barack Obama’s (D-Illinois) short-list for veep before he chose Sen. Joe Biden (D-Delaware). Obama might have had me, to be honest, since I was really hoping for a bipartisan ticket. After hearing Biden speak earlier this week in Maumee (a post analyzing that is scheduled for this weekend) I still am wavering among the reeds of my other moderate voters who wish we would piece together a third ticket we like better than the ones either party is offering us

Anyway, there’s not question what Hagel thinks of Republican presidential candidate Sen. John McCain’s (R-Arizona) decision to choose Alaskan Gov. Sarah Palin as his running mate.

“Hagel questions Palin’s experience”

Last update: September 18, 2008 – 10:26 PM

Sen. Chuck Hagel of Nebraska became the nation’s most prominent Republican officeholder to publicly question whether Alaska Gov. Sarah Palin has the experience to serve as president.

“She doesn’t have any foreign policy credentials,” Hagel said in an interview published Thursday by the Omaha World-Herald. “You get a passport for the first time in your life last year? I mean, I don’t know what you can say.”

Could Palin lead the country if GOP presidential nominee John McCain could not? “I think it’s a stretch to, in any way, to say that she’s got the experience to be president,” he said.

McCain and other Republicans have defended Palin’s qualifications, citing Alaska’s proximity to Russia. Palin told ABC News, “They’re our next-door neighbors and you can actually see Russia from land here in Alaska.”

Hagel took issue with that. “I think they ought to be just honest about it and stop the nonsense about, ‘I look out my window and I see Russia and so therefore I know something about Russia,'” he said. “That kind of thing is insulting to the American people.”

Hagel, a senior member of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, has been a vocal critic of the Bush administration since the 2003 invasion of Iraq

(Courtesy of the Sept. 18, 2008 issue of the Minneapolis-St. Paul Star Tribune.)

From your own party … ouch. Just more food for thought. My brain must have a political tapeworm with all the food for thought I’m throwing at it from both sides leading up to Nov. 4. Eek!

Responses

  1. i’m with you. i’m not really satisfied with either one, so i can’t make up my mind. oh well. i’ll figure it out, i spose. my cell is 419-450-5785. call and we’ll make things work!


Leave a Reply

Categories

