Posted by: Kristy | September 2, 2008

Do I still smell like funnel cake?

This was a cr-a-zy weekend. My mother, sister-in-law and I spent Friday night, Sunday night and Monday night at the Fulton County Fair, in Wauseon.

(They were there Saturday and today, too.)

We were manning a booth to promote Toledo’s new TONI&GUY Hairdressing Academy (classes scheduled to begin in October — sign up now! And there is my only shameless plug of the post.) It was actually really fun because we set up the TV/DVD player and showed an upbeat, fashion-focuses film called “Endless Opportunities,” that spotlights why students should choose to attend TONY&GUY academies, as well as career opportunities and student and salon owner testimonials. We also took people’s photographs, printed them out on this sweet inkless Polaroid printer and snapped them into free keychains with our information on the other side.

It was neat to talk to everyone who stopped, just to get the word out about the academy.A lot of people signed up for more information and were really excited that we’re opening, and I have more than 20 people to call about enrolling for classes within the next year. The ball is rolling and I’m having to run to not get squished! 🙂 I really liked seeing people’s faces when I said, “Have you ever heard of TONI&GUY? … No … Well, have you heard of BedHead hair products? … Yeah, aren’t they great? We’re the creators of BedHead and we’re opening a new academy in Toledo this fall. Do you know anyone who is interested in going to school for hair design?” The look of recognition and excited responses about how much BedHead rocks made me feel good because I know we’re dealing with a quality business that has a stellar reputation. I like being able to genuinely talk up the business I’m supposed to be marketing because I honestly believe in the business philosophy. It makes my job easier!

Today was my first official day in my new role as Director of Admissions and Marketing for the school and it’s good for me to be able to throw myself into a new project. It’s going to stretch my creativity in a different way, which I need, and it’s going to force me to step out of the comfort bubble I’d built at the Daily News. I miss the paper … I wonder how my front page looks now that it’s not mine … 😦 But it was really, really good to be able to work in such a positive environment all day and to be able to embrace a project knowing that I can’t really screw it up because we’re still figuring out what all of this looks like. 🙂 Anyone who knows me knows that I thrive on having to jump into something and make it happen — after a lot of discussion and analysis, lol.

It’s also good because it takes my mind off of other things, namely how lonely I am right now. 😦 It’s just such a lonely season; I feel as if I’m in a boat heading a direction, and I know other people are in boats right next to me going the same direction, but it’s so foggy I can barely see them and I can’t at all see where we’re heading. Or where I’m heading. Or really who is around me on the trip at all. I mean, I know a few people, but everyone kind of pops in and out of the fog. It’s a terrible, terrible feeling. But in 24 years my God hasn’t failed me yet, so I don’t think he’s going to start now.

Leave a Reply

Categories

