Posted by: Kristy | August 27, 2008

Say what?

“You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure about you.”
— Nelson A. Rockefeller; American politician and businessman (1908-1979)

I realize I stole this from my Facebook profile, but it’s too hardcore to ignore. I’ve been contemplating it off and on for a few days. Honestly, think about it. How often do I NOT say something I believe because I don’t want to scare people or for them to look at me funny. Not that I want to shove my opinions down others’ throats, but to NOT say something just so someone else doesn’t think my opinion is strange does nothing to further discussion or introspection.

This is something I’ve considered especially in light of the political arena these days. I used to be accused to becoming very, um, impassioned when it come to political discourse. (Ok, ok, I used to get argumentative.)

I’m taking a new tact this time around — I think it comes with maturity. I just want to talk. I want to know what other people are thinking and why. I want to bounce other perspectives off them and myself.

I’ve already changed my mind in the past six months on some things. Changing your mind is OK; it’s something intelligent people do as they gain perspective and information. I don’t want to shrink just because my opinion differs from someone else, and I don’t want them to do the same. I want to listen and be listened to. Let’s TALK people. Not just about politics. About religion and morality and decorating and sports teams and the important and the trivial aspects of life.

Let’s stop thinking about what our next point is and really listen to what we are saying to each other. We might just learn something, or teach someone. We don’t always have to change each others’ minds, but I’d like to be able to walk away from conversations at least mulling a different perspective than I had at the onset.

Let’s experiment with this concept and see where it gets us. It’s going to be difficult. It requires not allowing emotions to run away with us. It requires not becoming hypersensitive and quickly aggressive or defensive. It requires not interrupting and letting the other person finish a thought and it requires respect.

I say it’s worth a shot.

Leave a Reply

Categories

